HEALTH AND WELLBEING

Why Do Young, Healthy Adults Die Suddenly?

Learn how to protect yourself from sudden adult death syndrome.

Annie Trevaskis
5 min readJan 28, 2023

--

A white cross nestled amongst daffodils with two butterflies
Photo by Jessica Lewis Creative: pexels.com

There is a story in the news today stating that Fox News Senior Vice President of News & Politics, Alan Komissaroff, died of a heart attack while exercising at home. He was described as young and healthy.

If you google “death of young, healthy adults,” you will find stories like the one about 31-year-old Catherine Keane, who died in her sleep. Her mother said she went to the gym and walked 10,000 steps daily.

You will find numerous other articles about footballers and other athletes dying suddenly.

The headlines often ask why and I have an answer.

Sudden Adult Death Syndrome

When the coroner can find no other reason for the death, it is often labelled as sudden adult death syndrome (SADS), which causes a cardiac arrest.

A photo of the read out from an electro cardiograph
Photo by Pixabay

Let me tell you the story of one of my patients.

I had been practising acupuncture for over 20 years when John came to me for…

--

--

Annie Trevaskis

I came, I wrote, I conquered. That last bit might not be true, but at least I am putting up a good fight.