Tiny Humour Splash #33

To make you smile

Annie Trevaskis
2 min readAug 15, 2022
Something has been dropped into purple water creating a splash
Photo by Robert Anderson on Unsplash

The character:
Mrs A:
my mother’s cleaning lady, who could not read.

When I was growing up, we kept chickens. We used to put all vegetarian scraps into a Le Creuset (orange, of course) pot with some water and leave it in the bottom oven of the Aga overnight. The next day when it had cooled, we would add chicken feed (grain) to the pot and feed the whole sorry mess to the chickens.

My parents took us on holiday once and left Mrs A in charge. There was also a bag of powdered cement in the outhouse where the chicken feed lived.

When we got home, we found that we couldn’t crack any of the eggs. It took a while to work out why.

NB: no chickens were hurt in the making of this humour splash; that may be a lie: they had sore bottoms for a few days but made a quick recovery.

( If you enjoyed this true story, the “clap” button below awaits you. Want to know a secret? You can press and hold it, so it goes up to 50 if you want to give a standing ovation.)

©Annie Trevaskis 2022. All Rights Reserved

--

--

Annie Trevaskis

I came, I wrote, I conquered. That last bit might not be true, but at least I am putting up a good fight.